AstroSage Kundli App Download Now
  • Brihat Horoscope
  • AstroSage Big Horoscope
  • Ask A Question
  • Raj Yoga Report
  • Career Counseling
Personalized
Horoscope

Indian Calendar 2020: Indian Holidays & Festivals

Last Updated: 1/24/2019 10:02:31 AM

Indian calendar is basically Gregorian calendar reformed as per holiday mechanism of India. Adding to it is the list of festivals, the dates of which are calculated as per the lunisolar calendar system called Panchang.

Indian Calendar 2020: List of Important Days and Festivals

January 2020 Festivals
1 Jan, Wednesday New Year
2 Jan, Thursday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
12 Jan, Sunday National Youth Day
14 Jan, Tuesday Lohri
15 Jan, Wednesday Pongal, Uttarayan, Makar Sankranti
17 Jan, Friday Vivekananda Jayanti
23 Jan, Thursday Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
26 Jan, Sunday Republic Day
29 Jan, Wednesday Vasant Panchami
30 Jan, Thursday Gandhi Punyatithi
February 2020 Festivals
4 Feb, Tuesday World Cancer Day
9 Feb, Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti
18 Feb, Tuesday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
21 Feb, Friday Mahashivratri
March 2020 Festivals
8 Mar, Sunday International Women’s Day
9 Mar, Monday Holika Dahan
10 Mar, Tuesday Holi
23 Mar, Monday Shaheed Diwas
25 Mar, Wednesday Ugadi, Gudi Padwa
April 2020 Festivals
1 Apr, Wednesday Bank's Holiday
2 Apr, Thursday Ram Navami
6 Apr, Monday Mahavir Jayanti
10 Apr, Friday Good Friday
12 Apr, Sunday Easter
13 Apr, Monday Baisakhi
14 Apr, Tuesday Ambedkar Jayanti
22 Apr, Wednesday Earth Day
26 Apr, Sunday Akshay Tritiya
May 2020 Festivals
1 May, Friday International Workers Day
3 May, Sunday World Laughter day
7 May, Thursday Budh Purnima, Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti
10 May, Sunday Mother’s Day
24 May, Sunday Eid-al-Fitr / Ramadan
31 May, Sunday World No Tobacco Day
June 2020 Festivals
5 Jun, Friday World Environment Day
21 Jun, Sunday Father’s Day
23 Jun, Tuesday Jagannath Rath Yatra
July 2020 Festivals
5 Jul, Sunday Guru Purnima
23 Jul, Thursday Hariyali Teej
27 Jun, Monday Tulsidas Jayanti
31 Jul, Friday Bakrid
August 2020 Festivals
2 Aug, Sunday Friendship’s day
3 Aug, Monday Raksha Bandhan
11 Aug, Tuesday Janmashtami
15 Aug, Saturday Independence Day
20 Aug, Thursday Islamic New Year
22 Aug, Saturday Ganesha Chaturthi
29 Aug, Saturday Muharram
31 Aug, Monday Onam
September 2020 Festivals
1 Sept, Tuesday Anant Chaturdashi
5 Sept, Saturday Teacher’s Day
14 Sept, Monday Hindi Diwas
15 Sept, Tuesday Engineer’s Day
October 2020 Festivals
2 Oct, Friday Gandhi Jayanti
17 Oct, Saturday Sharad Navratri Begins, Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
24 Oct, Saturday Durga Puja Ashtami, Durga Maha Navami Puja
25 Oct, Sunday Dussehra
29 Oct, Thursday Id-e-Milad
31 Oct, Saturday Valmiki Jayanti
November 2020 Festivals
4 Nov, Wednesday Karva Chauth
12 Nov, Thursday Dhanteras
14 Nov, Saturday Diwali, Narak Chaturdashi, Children’s day
15 Nov, Sunday Govardhan Puja
16 Nov, Monday Bhai Dooj
20 Nov, Friday Chhath Puja
30 Nov, Monday Guru Nanak Birthday
December 2020 Festivals
1 Dec, Tuesday World AIDS Day
25 Dec, Friday Christmas

Know more about Today’s Planetary Transit While Gregorian Calendar is there in existence for a while, traditional Indian calendar which minutely observes the movement of sun, moon and other planets to calculate the tithi, has been guiding our ways for ages. There’s a reason why India is tagged as the Guru for the whole world. It's not only the invention of decimal or the digit zero, but a lot more than first occurred in India. In the modern world, we may talk about technology and invention but if we go by the epics, the first airplane (flying vehicle) was available in India. Pushpaka Vimana that was used by Ravana to abduct Mata Sita could fly in the sky. We have excelled at every sphere and that’s something to take pride in. Indian Panchang counts even the difference of seconds in its calculations and takes the longitude and latitude of a place into consideration while defining tithi or Pahar. Since there’s a time difference within the states of a country, there’s no possibility of having a panchang which gives correct details for every region. Indian astrology understands the importance of this panchang to be accurate and thus, only select agencies have the right to publish one. Nirnaysagar Press of Mumbai and a couple of others by a press at Surpur near Gulbarga now in Karnataka are the famous names when it comes to Hindu Panchang. The state of Karnataka has a rich history and a panchang of its own. Religious calendars formed by different sects are also a form of Panchang. As per Panchang and Vedic astrology, there are twelve months in a year, which are as follows

No. Lunar Month Solar Month
1. Chitta Chaitra
2. Vaisakha Vaishaka
3. Jyeshta Jyeshta
4. Poorvashada Ashada
5. Sravana Shravana
6. Poorvabhadra Bhadrapada
7. Aswini Aswija
8. Kartika Kartika
9. Mrigashirsha Margashira
10. Pushyami Pushya
11. Makha Magha
12. Uttaraphalguni Phalguna

The tithis in Indian Panchang are repeated every 15 days. Shukla 1 to 15 and Krishna 1 to 15 representing the waxing and waning moon are used for calculations. These are again divided into five parts - Nanda, Bhadra, Jaya, Riktha and Poorna. There also are nine stars called Janma tara, Sampat tara, Vipat tara, Kshema tara, Pratyak tara, Sadhak tara, Naidhana tara, Mitra tara and Parama Mitra tara. The zodiac signs in Vedic astrology is determined not only by the solar calendar but the movement of the moon, which is very quick. This preciseness and high-end calculations make Panchang stand out of all other forms of the calendar.

More from the section: Dharm
Subscribe Magazine on email:     
2704
Big Horoscope 2017
Buy Today
Gemstones
Get gemstones Best quality gemstones with assurance of AstroSage.com More
Yantras
Get yantras Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of AstroSage.com More
Navagrah Yantras
Get Navagrah Yantras Yantra to pacify planets and have a happy life .. get from AstroSage.com More
Rudraksha
Get rudraksha Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of AstroSage.com More
Today's Horoscope

Get your personalised horoscope based on your sign.

Select your Sign
Free Personalized Horoscope 2020
Reports
© Copyright 2019 AstroCAMP.com All Rights Reserved