AstroSage Kundli App Download Now
  • Brihat Horoscope
  • Personalized Horoscope 2020
  • Ask A Question
  • Raj Yoga Report
  • Career Counseling

Adhi Yoga : Interpretation and Importance

Last Updated: 5/18/2010 5:37:46 PM

S N Rao

Yoga in Vedic Astrology is a term for a combination of planets. Adhi yoga is a powerful combination which if found in a birth chart simply cannot be ignored. The result of this combination gives its result in the dasha, antardasha of the planets which form the yoga. I will try to give a complete picture of this yoga as briefly as possible. This yoga is said to be formed if any planet occupies the 6th, 7th, 8th house. There are two reference points which need to be seen for this yoga. This yoga is to be seen from the Lagna and the Moon in a birth chart.

If any planets occupy the 6th, 7th, 8th house from the Lagna then this yoga is known as Lagnadhi yoga. If the planets occupy the 6th, 7th, 8th house from the moon then this yoga is known as Chandradhi yoga.  Adhi yoga is said to make one a King, Minister or Army Chief according to the strength of the planets.  A native with this Yoga will be very influential, healthy and wealthy.  He will possess no fear, disease or enemy.

It makes an individual polite, trustworthy, affluent and capable of defeating his adversaries. If there is one planet in full strength in any one of these signs, that person becomes a leader. If there are two, he will be a minister and if there are three, he will occupy an eminent station in life. If all the three benefics, devoid of strength, are in the three signs above mentioned, then also Adhi Yoga will be present but the influence it exerts would indeed be feeble. Adhi Yoga may be considered as a Raja Yoga or almost its equivalent. In other words the results of the yoga are based on how strong the planet is. 
There can be innumerable permutation and combinations for this yoga.

eg. Aries Lagna or Moon in Aries, Mercury in the 6th in Virgo, Venus in the 7th in Libra and Jupiter in Scorpio in the 8th. This combination is a powerful Adhi yoga. This is because Mercury is exalted in the 6th house. Venus is in his own house in the 7th house and Jupiter is in a friend’s sign in the 8th house. The results of the yoga will be felt in the Dasha, Antardasha of Mars – as lagna lord or Moon whichever causes the yoga, Mercury, Venus or Jupiter.

Another powerful combination of this yoga is Lagna or Moon in Sagittarius, Venus in the 6th in Taurus, Mercury in the 7th in Gemini, Jupiter in the 8th in Cancer. Here Venus in in own sign in Taurus, Mercury is in own sign in Gemini and Jupiter is exalted in the 8th in Cancer.

Another powerful combination of this yoga is Lagna or Moon in Pisces, Jupiter in the 6th house in Leo, Mercury in the 7th in Virgo and Venus in the 8th house in Libra.

If the strength of the planets is weak then also this yoga will be termed as Adhi yoga but the results will be negligible and will be feebly felt by the native. Eg. Asc or moon in Leo, Jupiter in the 6th house in Capricorn is debilitated, Venus in 7th house in Aquarius, Mercury in 8th house in Pisces is also debilitated.

In all there can be Seven forms of Adhi Yoga.

All planets in the 6th house.
All planets in the 7th house.
All planets in the 8th house.
All planets in the 6th and the 7th house.
All planets in the 7th and the 8th house.
All planets in the 6th and the 8th house.
Planets in the 6th, 7th and the 8th house.

All the above combinations can qualify for a good Adhi yoga. The strength of the Adhi yoga will be weakened if there is association with Malefic planets in the 6th, 7th, 8th house. According to Jataka Parijata Lagnadhi yoga gets formed only when there are no malefic in the 4th house. 4th house is known as the Sukha sthana. If this is afflicted by malefic planets then there will be disturbance and troubles in the domestic life and hence there will be no happiness to the native. 

According to Bhattotpala in his commentary on “Brihat Jataka” there are three types of Adhi yoga. They are -

Shubhaadhi yoga: Benefics in the 6th, 7th, 8th
Paapaadhi yoga: Malefics in the 6th, 7th, 8th
Misramaadhi yoga: both benefics and malefics in the 6th, 7th, 8th

But Varahamihira and a section of other astrologers do not seem to observe such a classification.

There are some points which need to be clarified. In this yoga only the Natural benefic and the Natural malefic is to be considered and the readers should not get confused by the functional malefic and benefic planets. The strength of the lagna lord and the moon which ever causes the yoga is important. If these are not strong then the yoga will lack the power to give results. A weak moon, a debilitated moon, and moon with a malefic will not confer the results of this yoga. Apart from the above anything that weakens the Moon, can reduce the effects of
the Chandradhi yoga.
To consult astrologer S N Rao, please click here
More from the section: Astrology 887
Subscribe Magazine on email:     
Brihat Horoscope Banner
Buy Today
Get gemstones Best quality gemstones with assurance of More
Get yantras Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of More
Navagrah Yantras
Get Navagrah Yantras Yantra to pacify planets and have a happy life .. get from More
Get rudraksha Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of More
Today's Horoscope

Get your personalised horoscope based on your sign.

Select your Sign
Free Personalized Horoscope 2020
© Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved